The Mars Society

I get my information from various sources, but when it comes to actively seeking out a position as an astronaut, I turn to Astronaut for Hire, an excellent blog detailing the author’s efforts to do exactly that. He takes part in a program called FMARS, a Mars analog research station run by The Mars Society and housed on Devon Island, Canada, and actively blogged about his experience there. It was immensely interesting and informative for me, and thankfully I may have a similar chance as well…

He alerted his readers to TMS’s recently-opened call for applicants for their MDRS (Mars Desert Research Station) project, located in Utah. This would encompass two weeks of testing procedures that would be used on Mars actual to study soil samples to look for traces of life, or if life had existed in the past and in what form, and to monitor the actual participants for physical and mental strain from EVAs and other work.

So, of course I was interested in applying. Right now, I am revising my resume to include some of their requirements and doing more research on the actual program and what has been done in the past on excursions. While the number of undergraduates is somewhat low, I might have a shot at getting in on the 2009-2010 season with the amount of research I have already done during my two years. I should have the actual application process done within the week, after the update my online resume as well.

The only problem is that I’d have to take two weeks off of my second semester to attend…

One response to “The Mars Society

  1. Pingback: I’m going to MARS! « Inside a Calculator