District 9

Well, I just got back from watching this film in theaters, and I have to say that it is one of the best movies I’ve watched in a long time. I’m a big fan of mockumentaries, mostly due to The Office and Arrested Development, and this movie seamlessly integrates that into a great story that just continues to escalate and change and make you wonder what’s happening next.

I’m not going to tell you anything about what happens in the movie or anything like that, which might make this the worst movie review ever written. I’m going to tell you to not look things up about the story or anything like that until after you actually see the movie. I got the same advice, thankfully before I saw the most recent issue of Time, and I am glad that I followed that advice. The Time article especially gives away a ton of spoilers, so much so that reading the article after returning home basically allowed me to walk through the movie again. Good if you want to relive it, bad if you haven’t seen it yet.

Anyway, watch the movie once (or twice, or more) and think about what it tells you about the human race and yourself. You’ll be glad that you did.

Comments are closed.