MST@MSU | Days 9 and 10

Well, due to another late night, I wasn’t able to post up what happened on Monday. From what I remember, the only high points were College Night with Melissa Mattingly representing the Honors College, messing with three rooms that had left their door unlocked, watching Paranormal Activity followed by a sleep-over in the office, and winning the wind turbine contest in Mechanical Engineering. Pretty solid day, with a good variety of classes and relaxation time.

Getting back to today, I woke up for running but then decided that I wouldn’t run and just sleep on the concrete steps while the kids ran. Yes, I actually did fall asleep. I gradually let the kids back into Shaw through the back door while I waited for the rest of the kids to finish, followed by me showering and shaving in a bathroom on a separate part of the floor that the boys aren’t allowed on. It felt nice, but that wasn’t the best part about the morning.

The best was French Roast! I grabbed two mugs before the coffee ran out, and I completely enjoyed it. To be quite honest, I don’t really remember what else I had for breakfast since all I cared about was the coffee. Once I was suitably caffeinated, I collected the kids for Mathematics and walked them over to Wells Hall. I dropped them off at the room, then trounced up to the second floor to fall asleep on the couches, my pillow in hand. I set my alarm for 1030 to make sure I was back down for the end of class, then quickly drew the crop circle picture they were working on while I waited for class to be over.

Since I had the afternoon off, I technically could have just gone straight to bed, but instead I decided to grab some lunch since I knew that I’d be really hungry later if I didn’t. It was a good choice, since there were bacon cheeseburgers and more French Roast! Couldn’t ask for a better meal plan at that point. I ate relatively quickly, then went to my room to get ready for a nap. I reset my alarm, called Amazon to figure out a strange charge, then slept for a few hours before clinics.

I walked Creative Writing down to their classroom, logged onto the computer, and basically just messed around online until the class was over. It was nice again to just relax, since I had done the same thing in my clinic yesterday. Walking back went fine, and the rest of free time before dinner was pretty fun. I played some soccer with a few of the boys, but I sweated a lot due to the heat and the fact that I don’t really play soccer at all.

Dinner was fine, but for some reason I didn’t eat that much. It’s possibly because I did drink four glasses of Poweraid (two of them delivered by a kid for RA Appreciation), but there’s so many reasons for it that I can’t really pin it down. Once dinner was over, I changed into my bathing suit to get ready for going to IM West to go swimming. It was pretty fun, thought I didn’t swim much since I just wanted to relax that afternoon.

We walked back to Shaw, then got ready for study hall. I stayed in Shaw and played some Connect 4 with a camper before helping a group with their Mars mission project. It was a little troublesome since they had such a small budget, but we eventually made it work out. Once that was done, we shuffled the kids to their rooms, had our RA meeting, tried (but failed) to watch Jurassic Park, then went our separate ways for the night.

2 responses to “MST@MSU | Days 9 and 10

  1. this post fails because there’s no mention of me!

    also, last night, I saw your blankets moving funny and heard chiggers trying to get inside our room.