MST@MSU | Day 5

I ran this morning, alongside eight girls and two boys. The numbers seem to be remaining steady, but I’ll need to see how they hold up tomorrow (when Troy is leading) and at the start of next week when kids begin to drop off for more sleep. I know one kid will run every day, but that’s not the point. After showering, I had to handle a quick roommate dispute, but that didn’t really ruin the morning. Breakfast went fine as well, as did the color groups beforehand.

I took Nuclear Astrophysics to class today, but due to not sleeping much the night before, I knew that I should just get comfortable on the couch, and that I did. Soon after falling asleep, I had a dream that my class was standing around me, trying to decide if they should wake me up. It almost felt like I wasn’t sleeping and it was actually happening, so I woke myself up, and of course it wasn’t actually happening. This repeated again, and again, but on the third time I recognized it and slipped into a lucid dream. I remember the people in my dream telling me that it wasn’t a dream, but I just ignored it. It was pretty cool, but I even woke myself up from that early. I fell asleep again, then Zach Constan woke me up at the end of class.

I walked them back for lunch, with Zach tagging along to answer some more questions, but the highlight was the return of the ever-elusive FRENCH ROAST! I even texted everyone to tell them, but they thought that I was just saying it and didn’t mean that the caf had, until they arrived, of course. I ate, then got ready to take Astronomy over to class for the “Walk the Solar System” day. This had, however, been rescheduled for tomorrow due to the shoddy forecast, so I’ll be going to Astronomy again tomorrow to walk it, which I’m actually pretty excited about. They went through studying about the planets, particularly Mars, which was fun to watch.

After, I took the Basketball clinic over to IM East. Things went well, with me filling in for a kid during an ending drill after the kid started feeling a little sick, but he got better by the end. It was very hot and humid, but that did decrease slightly at the end following the severe weather alarms. We walked backed at the end of the clinic, but got caught in the rain before we could make it back to Shaw. My front was pretty wet, but so was basically every other person’s in the camp. We went through free time before color groups pre-dinner.

I ate a lot, and the RAs decided on the class schedule for tomorrow during dinner since we were planning on being both out late at the East Lansing Film Festival that night and up late picking groups for Camp Highfields on Saturday. It ended up that the movie was cancelled due to more rain moving through, so that just helped us cover more things in our nightly meeting. During free time, I was in the computer lounge as well as ferrying kids back and forth between there and Shaw. Once that two-hour excursion was over, I stood outside with some of the Astronomy kids while they took the first datapoints of their camp-long moon project.

It was here that things started getting interesting, with meetings with a few students, patrolling of the corridors, moving a student to a different room, a full hall meeting, and various other events on the boys’ floor. Once everything was taken care of, around 2030 or so, we finally started off our meeting with a joke about Darin getting fired. Our meeting lasted really long, since we recounted the various stories from the day, other happenings with the office, looking at some video clips, and creating the Highfields teams, plus the standard amount of goofing around.

All in a day’s work. It’s just weird to think about the fact that we’re already almost at the midpoint of camp. These last days have just flown by…

Comments are closed.