MST@MSU | Day 3

Today started off the same: running in the morning. I woke up, went downstairs, and waited for 0630 to roll around before taking the kids outside. Troy wasn’t going to be there, so I was in charge of all of them. I did two laps, then waited for some of the other kids to finish. One kid did a hill workout on the far end of the route and didn’t return until right around 0700, so we briefly talked about making sure that he either informed me beforehand or simply did fartleks during the morning run.

All of my color group calls went almost completely flawless, with the exception of dinner, with the inclusion of the early morning breakfast one. I ate a quick meal before wrangling up the kids for Nuclear Astrophysics and the tour of the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL). I really like the tour, and we saw a few more new things as compared to last year, so I was glad that I was able to do it twice today.

Following the tour, we had the camp picture out back before lunch, which went relatively smoothly. Lunch was fine as well, then I grabbed the Astronomy kids for their tour of the Cyclotron, which also went relatively well. By that point, I was returning back to normalcy, but I did start thinking about having a job at the Cyclotron (slash applying to jobs at the Cyclotron) post-graduation alongside grad school, just in case.

I took the students to Flash II today, which was nice since I simply sat in the back of a dark, air-conditioned room and looked up some stuff on the computer. Easy, plus I got to relax for a little bit. I was really looking forward to eating tonight, though, but unfortunately Shaw Hall saw it fit to only have one station open for three camps at dinner. I grabbed two cookies and some Poweraid while I waited twenty-some minutes for the monstrous line (which stretched back almost to the entrance) to shorten up. I did have a popsicle for dessert, so that kind of made up for it.

Then, the entire camp went to the pool. Color groups, walking across campus, then some cool, refreshing water to lounge in was great! We cheered on the kids as they jumped off the diving boards, plus it also gave us a good chance to test our name knowledge. The time went by quickly, but it was really nice. On the walk back, almost all of Green was just bonding well! I was and am so happy that my group is getting along, plus they have been sitting with kids from the group at meals sometimes even when we don’t say it.

We had study time in the cafeteria tonight. I played Abalone with one of the kids before helping another with his Physics homework, as well as gave him some tips on understanding the material more (or actually knowing what the material was), then signed off on his lab report. I had to sign a few others, but they all sounded great, so it wasn’t bad. We did room checks then went upstairs for our meeting, which happened to be accompanied by Tim (a CSI RA) and his friend along with some slushies for us. Yes!

That was it. Only one room was unlocked when we checked, which was great. We also discussed a few things to try to improve secret pals since they can’t use the mailboxes, plus some things for RA appreciation week next week, plus a few other random things. Everything looks good from my view, so I’m a happy employed camper.

Comments are closed.