MST@MSU | Day 2

Today was the first full day of the camp, with the campers all settled in and a full set of classes on the agenda. Things got off to an early start for me, with waking up around 0615 to get ready to run. I changed, went to the Lobby, and met with Troy while the kids either filtered in to run or were already waiting. We had a pretty good turn-out–somewhere around fifteen or twenty kids–which was really nice. I did two laps, then took the kids in while Troy waited for the last three to finish up.

Then came the first breakfast, but without the French Roast coffee (so I had Spartan Spirit). I was feeling a little sub-par following the run, so I made sure not to overdo it at breakfast, which I thankfully didn’t. I then took the Mathematical Explorations kids to their class, and we were there ten minutes early. No matter, since I’ll just push back our departure time in the future, or try to walk a little slower. The class was really cool, and the two instructors were really engaging throughout the class. I talked briefly with one of them while the kids were working at random times, which was cool.

Once the class was over, I walked them back to Shaw for lunch and told them to sit with their classmates from the morning. I hung out with a few of them, but for the most part I just ate food (and made the poor choice of dipping a brownie in caf-ranch), just to get through the day. No coffee this time, but I know that probably by week’s end that will happen. After a little free time, I took the kids to Astronomy and again arrived about ten minutes early.

That class was good, with just a minor hiccup with one of their camp-long homework assignments, but it should otherwise go fine. We did the lunar surface survival activity, and I scored a 26 as the lowest in the class. Didn’t really do as well as I though, but about four to six of those points were due to my choices making a little more sense, in my mind (a space heater would be much more mass to lug across the surface than a matchbox, and any instances where it could be used could also easily be avoided).

After class, I took the Bsketball special clinic over to IM East. This year, there are twelve kids in it, so a little more to handle on the courts. I walked around, taking a few pictures and acting as a second disciplinary for some of the troublesome kids, while they went through drills. I also jumped in on the lightning games, getting knocked out early in the first and coming in second in the second. After that, it was free shoot, so I took a handful of free throws before watching the scrimmage that a few of the kids had organized, just to make sure it didn’t get out of hand.

I brought them back to Shaw for a little free time before dinner. I was outside with Steph, since I was supposed to be watching the basketball court, but no one was there until I asked one girl that had come outside. I rebounded and chatted while she went through a couple drills to stay on top of her game, then walked her back inside for dinner. We sat in color groups, and I think I ate quite a lot, but sped it up at the end so I could help Mazur finish up the scavenger hunt, even though he did all of the work. Yes, I felt bad that I didn’t really do anything for it, but I just ran out of time before I could. Sorry Mazur! I got you next time!

After dinner was the scavenger hunt. After last year’s, I was just hoping that this would be good, which I felt that it would be. We didn’t have to break up the color groups, and all of the RAs just switched around with which one they’d be taking; I was with Mazur’s orange. My team got to quite a few of the correct places, a handful of wrong ones, then almost missed the easy answer Shaw Hall before they disappeared when I was talking to Troy and Mel. Once I did find them, some mis-communication between myself, the other counselors, and the kids, there was a little confusion about the end of the hunt, but we laughed it off eventually.

After a quick meeting, I went with Mazur to the computer lab, signed on a few kids that still didn’t have their ideas set, then talked with Mazur about the fourth/fifth dimension and the scavenger hunt. I also noticed the Astronomy homework error, which I’ll be looking into once I’m done here. Since we held the kids there a little longer, we delayed room checks by fifteen minutes before having our end-of-day meeting. I’m happy to say that I’ll be touring the Cyclotron twice tomorrow!

One response to “MST@MSU | Day 2

  1. Aww…I didn’t do all of the work. You do so much more than any of us in regards to the entire sports aspect of MST!

    And legitimize my physics vocabulary: should I refer to the dimension we talked about as the fourth or fifth dimension, or does it entirely and eternally depend on the current context and mood?