The End of the Semester

Starting this weekend, I am in finals mode. I didn’t spend enough time studying last semester, and it showed slightly in my grades, so this time I’m making a more focused and coherent effort to prepare for my end of year exams. One good thing about this semester is that I only have three finals; my HPS class will just have a final three-page paper (I just finished the long paper, which is due tomorrow and takes up more of my grade), while my Electronics class has half of the grade weighted into the lab portion. Yes, I’ll still have quite a bit of work to do for all five of my courses even while studying, but at least my time actually taking exams will be minimal.

I scheduled my courses for next year, with only a few small alterations from what I said a month ago. For instance, I’ll be taking MTH 451 [Numerical Analysis I] in the fall, while my spring Math courses are MTH 415 [Applied Linear Algebra] and MTH 442 [Partial Differential Equations]. There also was a little shuffling of my Physics courses due to when they were actually offered, but that’s fine by me. I’m only taking fourteen credits each semester, plus have no lab in the fall, so I’m happy. That might change when I wake up for 0910 classes every morning, but since I got so lucky this year with my times, I knew that it would eventually run out.

My summer plans are getting closer to being set. I applied for two jobs last weekend and am still waiting to hear back from, I’m on the counselor list for MST@MSU 2010, I am all set for my drive to Florida to see the STS-132 launch, and I’m living in my apartment with both Greg and Chris. I don’t think it could get any better than that. Technically, I’m still waiting to hear back about the NASA USRP, but I’m not very optimistic about it… Oh well, since I’ve had some great research experience so far anyway that working for NASA would’ve just been icing and not the whole cake. Speaking of research, I’ll be presenting at the 2010 UURAF this Friday, with only a few small modifications to do to my poster before then. Plus, to celebrate, I have a Calculus LA pub crawl that night…

I’m also looking forward to having some free time. I’ve been playing two online games pretty frequently recently: Light Bot and NASA ROVER. Both are command-sequence run games where you set a command sequence, hit run, and the robot/rover follows that sequence to achieve a goal, whether it’s moving to a certain point or switching on lights. I’m planning on writing a similar game in Python (using PyGame) this summer, which should be a good couple months of programming and testing. Plus, I’m just looking forward to playing it and expanding it as I go along. I’ve worked on some character art already, plus planning out how I want it to function, so I really just need to learn the ins-and-outs of PyGame before I can get started.

Of course, that won’t be until after the GRE, which I’m taking at the end of May. I’ve been studying vocab like it’s my job, almost to the complete exclusion of every other part of the test. I’m not worried about the math section; I’ll just need to make sure that I don’t make silly mistakes with my arithmetic or the directions. I’ve skimmed through everything, but the vocab is just what I’m worried about. I won’t be taking the Physics subject test until the fall, so I won’t need to worry about that for some time yet.

And that’s basically my life right now. This saturday, I’ll be shutting myself off from online social networking to fully get into finals mode, so you probably won’t hear from me until May 5th or later. So, until then, stay thirsty my friends.

2 responses to “The End of the Semester

  1. lol fun stuff dude.