Cuddling and Compromises

Yesterday was Cuddle-Up Day, one of those fake Facebook events similar to the “1,000,000 strong for [insert anything here].” Usually I just ignore them, but for a few I like participating just because it can be pretty fun and relaxing to just enjoy a fake holiday. You don’t need any preparation, you don’t need to go out to a fancy dinner, you don’t need to buy anything, and you don’t even need to devote the entire day to the event! How awesome is that?

Anyway, me and my statistically-significant other (to quote from XKCD at the bottom of this post) spent the beginning of the day cuddling, including me skipping my Biology class, then we worked on some homework after grabbing breakfast/lunch, then I taught my class, then we went to class, then I worked on my Biology take home exam. Pretty productive day if I don’t say so myself.

But is that really it? I mean, I have changed a lot since I was younger, mostly in how I view relationships. I know exactly when I changed (April 12, 2007) and what caused that change, but I’ve changed again from that. I think it’s college, but blaming everything on college isn’t really the best. College changes you if you let it; I could have very well been the same person I was in 2006 right now, but I changed. In most regards, I changed for the better, like being less shy and trying new foods and learning guitar. I know that some of my past actions aren’t the best, but I can’t take them back.

It’s just right now, I feel like I am more different than I’ve ever been. I’m slowly readjusting myself back a few months to focus a ton on school and myself, just because without doing that I would again miss my mark on my semester GPA, but it’s hard. I bet that you can guess why… my statistically significant other. I really do like her and spending time with her, but we’re not dating (due to what she wants) but we are dating because of how we act with each other and around other people and everything else.

And that brings us back to Cuddle-Up Day. I think taking all of that time away from her during the “holiday” definitely was a step in the right direction. Thankfully we’re both pretty chill so it didn’t even matter. Pretty good for me!

Comments are closed.